News for January 2012
Ebla Restored 16
Announcing the third Asylum Pack from the Revelations cycle
Call of Cthulhu LCG | Published 09 January 2012

When I drew nigh the nameless city I knew it was accursed. I was traveling in a parched and terrible valley under the moon, and afar I saw it protruding uncannily above the sands as parts of a corpse may protrude from an ill-made grave. Fear spoke from the age-worn stones of this hoary survivor of the deluge, this great-grandmother of the eldest pyramid.
–H.P. Lovecraft, The Nameless City

Fantasy Flight Games is pleased to announce the upcoming release of Ebla Restored, the third terrifying Asylum Pack in the Revelations cycle for Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game!

Ebla Restored adds new characters, locations, events, and Tomes for the different factions of Call of Cthulhu. Relic Hunters, cultists, scientists, and lunatics race to obtain power from the ancient Tomes of forgotten cultures, and their struggles may well determine the fate of the world as they either prevent the rise of the Ancient Ones or hasten the end of all humanity.

Glimpses of the future

The Revelations cycle continues to reveal the true power of knowledge within the world of Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, and many of the new cards within Ebla Restored provide players with new incentives to hunt down ancient Tomes, visit remote Libraries, and prevent rival Relic Hunters from fetching powerful artifacts for their respective factions.

Of course, each faction goes about the matter of obtaining power in its own way, and followers of the King in Yellow willingly submit themselves to madness in order to gain greater control of the world around them. To that end, Ebla Restored gives us Alyssa Graham (Ebla Restored, 46) and The Parlor (Ebla Restored, 47).

An ability like Alyssa’s that can limit your opponent’s draw is always powerful, but it becomes even more potent when combined with knowledge of the cards your opponent is bound to draw. When Alyssa Graham communes with the spirits of the dead in her Parlor, she allows you to selectively discard your opponent’s best cards as he draws them. With some copies of Eldritch Nexus (Core Set, 154) and Arkham Asylum (Core Set, 146) in your deck, you gain the ability to restore Alyssa and can drive her insane each time your opponent draws cards.

You’ll have to mind your tactics when you use her ability, however, as she can’t discard both your opponent’s cards in the draw phase. Players draw two cards in the draw phase one at a time, but as a single framework action, and her response can only trigger once during that draw. Likewise, the active player gets the first action in each phase, so if you drive Alyssa insane to discard a card your opponent draws through the rules, he’ll still be safe from her ability if he triggers any draw effect with his first action of the phase. But that’s why The Parlor serves you so well; when you know what your opponent is bound to draw, you can decide if it’s a card you need to send to your opponent’s discard pile or if it’s something relatively harmless that you can let him take into his hand.

Where truths are revealed

In short time, Alyssa Graham can provide Hastur decks with tremendous card advantage. As you draw into more and more cards and tactical options, all while controlling your opponent’s draw and monitoring his resources, you’ll find how the King in Yellow gains power through glimpses of the future.

Look for Alyssa Graham, The Parlor, and a host of other great cards to enhance the struggles between the different factions of Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game with Ebla Restored.

Based on the fiction of H.P. Lovecraft and his literary circle, Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game takes two players deep into the Cthulhu Mythos where investigators clash with the Ancient Ones and Elder Gods for the fate of the world. The Living Card Game format allows players to customize their gaming experience with monthly Asylum Pack expansions to the core game.

Write Comments     
More News [+]
Comments (16)

Published: 1/11/2012 5:29:56 AM

I don't agree that the framework of resolution can be changed. It's just different types of effect getting triggered by the same thing and having a proper order of resolution (the framework itself).

So, while I don't agree with you Penfold, I think we both stated our opinions quite completely by now.

Published: 1/10/2012 8:19:22 PM

 I should say adding the card to your hand is the execution of the draw.

Published: 1/10/2012 8:17:30 PM

 What I am saying is that The Parlor alters how the framework action is handled entirely.

The card must be revealed before it can actually be added to hand which is the execution of the draw action. So the very initiation is regulated by the passive effect it has, meaning the disrupt is disrupting the adding the card to hand, since that is the part that actually qualifies as draw.

I see a regular draw working this way -

1. Card is on my deck.
2. Draw action is initiated.
3. Draw action is executed and the top card is added to my hand.
4. Draw action is initiated.
5. Draw action is executed and the top card is added to my hand.

I see this particular interaction this way -

1. Card is on my deck.
2. Draw action as modified by The Parlor is initiated causing the card to be revealed. (Note if there were an effect that would disrupt the reveal of a card it is played in between steps 1 & 2)
3. Disrupt discards the revealed card preventing the draw from successfully adding that card to my hand.
4. Draw action as modified by The Parlor is initiated causing the card to be revealed. (Again if there were a reveal disrupt it would be triggered between 3 & 4).
5. Draw action is executed and card is added to my hand. 1 Card is successfully added to my hand.

The interesting thing, is I think I would have to draw a second card since the rules state draw two cards, and I have successfully only drawn 1. Meaning I would reveal a third card, which would be able to be successfully added to my hand. Makes her somewhat less scary. I guess with The PArlor out she acts a s a card filter, and without it prevents you from stacking the top of your deck, or you use her for recursion instead. Very versatile card. Hastur could use the help.

Published: 1/10/2012 4:53:01 PM

To be a little more precise, any time later than 2. in this chart would be too late to trigger this disrupt. In any other opportunities to do so (4.II, 5.II, 6.II), the various disrupts would trigger with the appropriate Passive Ability (4.II), Forced Effects (5.II) or Responses (6.II) - each allowing a full new tree of disrupts, passive, forced and responses but none providing the conditions of this disrupt "When a player would draw a card". If you don't do it at point 2, you won't be able to trigger Alyssa with this draw anywhere later in the card.

Published: 1/10/2012 4:44:45 PM

Thing is, as I've quoted from the FAQ, (a) disrupts can only be played when the condition is met and (b) their resolution precedes the resolution of the condition. So you can't use Alyssa anywhen you want. You can only use her disrupt when the conditions are met and before resolving the conditions themselves.

So, if this disrupt triggers when your opponent is about to draw a card, you can only trigger it before the draw is actually done and you must resolve it before resolving the draw.

When you're opponent is about to draw a card, you can trigger your disrupt only now. You can't wait the draw to be totaly resolved (put in the hand in normal times and revealed first if 'The Parlor' is in play).

If you're looking at the chart from the FAQ, it would play like this :

[I think "drawing" would qualifies as 'Framework Action']

1. Framework Action is initiated: The Opponent is about to draw
2. Disrupts: Alyssa's controler can chose to trigger the disrupt. If he does, he can either (a) discard the about to be drawn card or (b) move the top card from his discard pile to his deck. The player can't choose to trigger the disrupt later. It's only now that the opponent is about to draw. After, the draw would be resolved and it would be too late.
Framework Action is executed: The opponent complete his drawing process, if able.
4. Passive abilities and then Forced Responses (requirements now met) are initiated:Thanks to the Parlor effect, if the opponent has drawn a card, he must show it before adding it to his hand.

Published: 1/10/2012 10:29:55 AM

 Danigral is correct otherwise all disrupts are worded incorrectly. When clearly means during the window. The moment you must draw the card would be in your hand, before it is added it must be revealed. I can use Alyssa at any point *before* the card is added to your hand to discard it.

The opportunity for disrupts happen before passives, but the fully detailed timing chart shows the option for disrupts happen at every step. Disrupts can disrupt disrupts, they can disrupt, passives, they can disrupt forced, disrupt responses, and disrupt actions. Where you choose to trigger the disrupt is obviously up to the effect controller.

Published: 1/10/2012 6:23:17 AM

I really like Alyssa Graham. The Lunatic subtype is getting really nice stuff to work with for a different type of control decks. I think this is going to be my next challenge for the deckbuilding :D

Published: 1/10/2012 4:46:32 AM

Even if the moment was the same for both card (would draw a card on both Alyssa AND The Parlor), you couldn't see the card before resolving Alyssa's action.

FAQ, same page.

The order of precedence of when
an effect takes place, assuming all
conditions are met simultaneously, is as
1. Disrupt effects
2. Passive effects

3. Forced Response effects
4. Response effects

They really can't work together.

Published: 1/10/2012 4:43:45 AM

Unless I'm missing something, The Parlor cannot be used to see what card you could discard with Alyssa.

FAQ, Timing Structure, p.9

Disrupts and Responses are triggered
effects played as a result of the actions
that the players take, or as a result of
something that occurs because of a
game effect. (Such as a character being
wounded as the result of a combat
struggle, or a player drawing cards
during the draw phase.)
Disrupts can be played immediately,
whenever their play requirement is
met, and their resolution precedes
the resolution of the occurrence that
allowed the disrupt to be triggered.

So, your opponent is about to draw a card, Alyssa is triggered (would draw a card), you resolve the disrupt. If you choose to let your opponent draw his card, then The Parlor is "triggered" (each card drawn).

Published: 1/9/2012 11:19:16 PM

 I think you may be right, Kennon. Disrupt happens before passive. But you could argue that since the state of the card drawn is still "being drawn" even after you look at it with Parlor, you could trigger the Disrupt afterward.

Published: 1/9/2012 9:15:24 PM

I'm sure they'll just rule that she works with The Parlor, but on reading their wording, I'd say that her ability looks more like Disrupt that happens when the draw is initiated and stops the card from going to hand. Since her ability stops the draw, The Parlor wouldn't let you look at it.

Published: 1/9/2012 8:40:33 PM

 As I recall in the article for the 2nd pack of this series 'Words of Power' the card 'Library of Pergamum' was spoiled. The Library of Elba is considered by some to be the oldest discovered.

© 2014 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS