News for July 2011
See Through the Fog of War 6
A Dust Tactics FAQ is available on the support page
Dust Tactics | Published 29 July 2011

The morning fog rolled in thick along Scapa Flows docks. Allied walker pilots sat in their Pounders and Steel Rains, waiting to see the Axis walkers they could hear thundering nearer and nearer. A squad of Recon Boys came running around the corner shouting something. They had targeting coordinates for the Axis command!

Dust Tactics provides players fast, furious combat in an alternate-reality WWII, and Fantasy Flight Games is committed to keeping its rules and gameplay clear and concise. To clarify many of the questions players have raised, an FAQ document has now been uploaded to the Dust Tactics support page.

See clearly with simple clarifications

The game’s campaign expansions, Operation “Cyclone” and Operation “SeeLöwe,” have added depth to the Dust Tactics rules set, and those rules are collected and compiled neatly in the upcoming Revised Core Set rulebook.

The FAQ (v1.15, pdf, 2.1 MB), on the other hand, clarifies complicated situations that can arise within the existing rules, addressing a number of issues for which players have asked additional guidance:

  • In what situations will a squad benefit from “corner cover”?
  • How do close combat weapons work with reactive fire?
  • How do players calculate victory points?
  • How does sustained fire interact with lasers weapons or berserk?

The FAQ provides three minor errata and addresses common questions, including those listed above, to provide clear, direct answers to simplify your game play. The FAQ is a living document and will receive edits and updates as they are needed to ensure players spend more of their time enjoying the game and less time engaged in rules debates.

Download the FAQ here (v1.15, pdf, 2.1 MB) or from the Dust Tactics support page.

Good gaming!

Dust Tactics is a tactical miniatures game of brutal combat for 2-4 players. Based on the popular universe created by artist Paolo Parente, Dust Tactics presents an alternate 1940s reality in which alien technology fuels gigantic machines of war, and the world's superpowers clash over rare mineral deposits that could ultimately decide the outcome of WWII.

Write Comments     
More News [+]
Comments (6)

[So]Rice
Published: 7/31/2011 2:59:11 PM
#6

Thanks for this Fantasy Flight!

Peacekeeper_b
Published: 7/30/2011 5:38:10 AM
#5

Cover rules for heroes still are lame, but oh well, its official!

Gian
Published: 7/30/2011 1:57:38 AM
#4

[ADMIN: The Sustained Attack + Berserk example presented in the FAQ has been rewritten. Please note the current FAQ linked above and on the support page is version number 1.1.

Re: your artillery question, if an artillery unit has line of sight to the target, it must fire the direct shot on its own activation. That is, the artillery unit cannot fire an indirect artillery strike if it has direct line of sight to its target.]

Really nice to get the faq, good work.

Two things that i reacted on.

First, in page 6 on the example for the question:

"Q: How does the special ability Berserk work with the sustained attack action?"

"EXAMPLE: Sigrid has joined a Laser Grenadiers unit. During the game, they perform a Sustained Attack, combined with Sigrid’s Berserk skill, against the Recon Boys who are two spaces away from the Axis squad. The Axis player rolls eight total dice (three for Sigrid’s Laser-Pistole-B and one for each Laser Gewehr and Laser Werfer in the Laser Grenadiers squad).

The first roll produces one (HIT) and seven (MISSES)! One damage so far. Because the squad is using a laser weapon, he rerolls the (HIT) and obtains a (MISS).

The Sustained Attack allows the Axis player to reroll the seven (MISSES), and he obtains two (HITS) and five (MISSES). That’s three total damage so far. Again, because of the laser weapons, he rerolls the two and obtains two (MISSES).

Berserk allows the Axis player to reroll the remaining five . He obtains two (HITS) and three (MISSES), which results in a total of five damage."

shouldnt the last two hits also be rerolled (because its laser)???

and

second, in page 7 when answering the question:

"Q: If both an observer and a unit with an Artillery weapon have line of sight to a target, can the observer use its Artillery Strike skill to activate the unit with the Artillery weapon to fire a direct shot instead of an indirect shot?"

"A: No. If an artillery unit has line of sight to the target, it must fire the direct shot on its own activation."

it raises the question (for me) if the artillery strike ability is allowed to be used to make an indirect shot following the indirect fire rules if the artillery carrying unit has line of sight???

Thanks for a greate game / Gian

traderghost
Published: 7/29/2011 9:45:03 PM
#3

Well done FFG! I hope you continue to address players' concerns directly and engage the player community in a more intimate way. This is a good start and I hope not the last. Of course we players will do our part to help out the newbies in the community but it's always good to hear FFG's voice among us too. At least, we know that we aren't just talking among ourselves :)

Peacekeeper_b
Published: 7/29/2011 9:39:10 PM
#2

Lots of Dust News this week. Thank you FFG. Hopefully we can get some new fluff soon!

Retina
Published: 7/29/2011 6:25:18 PM
#1

This is great to add and clarifies plenty of things, but I think I found an error on page two. The second paragraph example is as follows:

"Next, the Axis player targets a BBQ Squad with the MG 48. The weapon line shows a “(1)” after the weapon name, which means that only one soldier in the squad is carry- ing this type of weapon. The Axis player rolls four dice per weapon, so he rolls a total of four dice against the BBQ Squad."

Shouldn't that actually be one die rolled as only one soldier has that weapon?

[ADMIN: Actually, the example provided is correct. If you target a BBQ Squad, you would reference an armor value of Infantry 2. The single MG48 rolls 4/1 against Infantry 2, which means you roll 4 dice and each hit causes 1 wound. 

I appreciate the question, as I imagine others may have the same thought.]

© 2014 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS